top of page

30.) Gratefulness


Even if it’s already over five month ago when I came back; there is not one day (and I think not even an hour) in which I don’t think about my worldtrip. And the most of the time when I think about it there’s coming an overwhelming feeling of gratefullness over me. I often thank myself for my courage but the main thing for which I’m that gratefull are all the pepole I met on my trip. Every singel person – doesn’t matter if far or near to me - gave me something for what I will thank him or her for the rest of my life.

I never told you about the definite end of my trip: I was sitting in the middle of my birthday party when I realized that I’ve done now the very last step back to my old life. I was surrounded by amazing lovely people which were that kind to listen to my story and watching a bunch of pictures from my trip. And all of them donate for my biggest wish: I asked my familymembers and friends to bring money instead of birthday gifts. I wanted the to bring money because I want to donate it to my guys at the Mutogomeli Camp. In the buddhist belief there is a beautiful credo which I truly can confirm. It says that giving is the biggest gift.

And there are – like many other times – no words to thank my family and friends that they all together gave me the amazing amount of 2500 Euro which are 42‘000 Rand. In the name of Francois and Níall I thank my Mom, my Dad, my sister Giulia, Kathy, Jelena, Dani, Patricia, Clemens, Dominique, Dodi, Julia, Felix, Davide, Jenny, Kirstin, Delia, Andy, Rahel, Conny, Rosmarie, Nicole, Heidi, Nadine, Celine, Simon, Claudio, Sarah, Lara, Michi, Sonja, Franco, Rolf, Corina and Fabienne for being at my party, spending a lovely day together and donate money to a project in which I truly felt in love.

Some people in my life are tired to hear: „OH now at this time when I was in NYC/Fiji/Australia/at the camp I did this or this…“ It’s because I still cannot believe what I’ve done and how lucky I have been to met all this wonderful peole. At my hometown in Italy – where I’m sitting right now – I have finally the time to thank all of you. I just have to say thank you to e v e r y single person I met on this trip and made this six month tot he biggest adventure ever. So I start at the very first day and then I will go through all places I’ve been to thank you. If I forgot someone or I made a collective-thank-you – don’t be mad :)

Donald – Even if I don’t have any number or adress of you : You have been an important person on this trip. You made me understand that this trip is going to have a big value for the rest of my life. Thank you for being my first conversation partner on this trip to my fly to NYC.

And here they come : All my EC People!!

Patricia – I cannot believe that we just had one week together! Still having you in my life is just a huge gift!

Alessandro – our day at the statue of liberty was just great! It was nice to talk sometimes in my heartlanguage

Raiza – from the very first evening at this pub where we have been: you made me always laugh so hard! There is truly not many like you!

Carla – carissima Carla meting you was just awesome. If we have been at the Fat Cat or somewhere else – there was just fun with you

Marta – one of best things what we went trought together was the weekend at W ashington D.C. Thanks for being part of this beautiful weekend!

Andres – When I was in Africa you sent me one of the most beautiful messages I’ve ever received and I reply to you: No – you changed me! If we were laughing or you tried to teach me to count in Spanish or weh ad one of our hearttouching conversations – you just have been an important person for me in NYC

Julien – my little brother from a French mother… you just made this group to what it was with all your jokes and your awesome way so see life… stay like you are and I wish you just the best for Sydney ! P.S. Thank of you I definitly know that I will never love Hard Rock Music ;)

Jêrome – sad that we never met since I’m back… So we could have the change to continue our lovely conversations. I loved the feeling that I could tell you everything… Let’s try the best for the future ;)

Shouta – another guy which impressed me so much ! If I ever will go to Japan I will definitly visit you

Susana – I think I told you already but I will be never tired to say it again: Our spontaneous afternoon at China Town is one of the best highlights from m y WHOLE trip… After this I had the feeling that we could rule the world even if God drives you crazy… I really hope from the bottom of my heart that we will met once again!

Austin & Emily– It was such a pleasure to have you guys at the desk from the EC School. I will never forget our hilarious evening at Austin’s favourite Korean place… Hope to see you once again!

Heather – my dearest Heather… you were not just a teacher for my English skills… you were a teacher for life ! Your kidness and wonderfull laugh made the lessons - which were already so interessting - to the best lessons I’ve ever had. I hope so much that one day I’ll be such a good teacher like you. I will never forget our beautiful afternoon we had together when you were interviewing me for your blog. I truly wish you all the best and I love our conversations we sometimes have thank of technology. Whenever you will have the chance to come back to France – please let me know that we can enjoy together a wonderful glas of wine!

Michael & Lara – there is not many to say but just this: our „perfect Saturday in New York“ is simply unforgettable. Thank you two from the bottom of my heard for that !

The cambitch family – Claudio, Cédric, Sarah and Simon… So far away I had yo much home thank of you guys! I loved it that you came to my birthday and Simon: I just love the relationship together with Kathy… One of the gifts of the universe I will be thankful for ever…

Alicia – It was so nice to have you as my English and my running partner. Always when I put my brown and expensive Coach Hills I remember our Macy’s shooping tour

Marjorie Eliott – thank you from the bottom of my heart for making my Harlem Sunday full of Jazz and joy

Andrew – thank you for Philly

Amber & Serena – You two Angels just made my last days in NYC so much more aceptable… It was so lovely to talk to you, to go to church, to eat in this lovely bistro in Harlem… you two were just so adorable – thank you for everything!

Rainer & Gordana for having a wonderful weekend with you and my Family in Florida

Judy – the first friend I had in Fiji. So lovely to see that you follow my life on Facebook. I just wish you and your husband the best in life!

The GVI Volunteer, GVI Staff Member, Silana Villagers and Teachers of the DDS – my weeks with you guys were just unforgetable… It was definitly one of best time I spent somewhere in my life… I will never forget when I jumped down the stairs from the kitchen and crowed just like a little girl. Everyone watched me, smiled and Jack said: „Seems like Laura catched the Fiji-Feeling“ The presentation I gave there made me so proud and the exchange was so important for me as a teacher. A speacial thank you to Joanne. With you I had one of the most beautiful dinner in Leleuvia and our conversation about love changed me in so many ways… Aver & Mary because I met you once again I will come to you later Sugarbones…

Pipi, Julie and Nathalie – thank you from the bottom of my heart for hosting me two times… I will never forget when you Julie said : If you have around chrismas the feeling you need some family – just come ! And I came for new years eve – and for another week. Your place and hospitality in Rye gave me the time to settle down ally my experiance in Australia. Thank you for the great time, the amazing wine and the awesome conversations !

Katie – you are just a delighting person and it was just crazy that I met you in Rome and spent this absolutly incredible nice moring with my Julia and Piero… Life is just awesome specially when people are lucky enough to met people like you! Thank you for everything! Enjoy your time in Italy!

Corbin, Margot, Joop, Chris, Jonas, Mirjam, Manuela, Tae and Karolien – a.k.a. The cappucino tour, a.k.a. The Mimalakoja’s, a.k.a. The black cockatoo - life showed me that this 10 days in this family I will never forget in my life. When I was sitting at the bar in my hometown in Italy and Xavier Ruud sang „Follow the sun“ and I closed my eyes then I wasn’t anymore in Italy. I was sitting on the red beautiful and powerful sand in the heart of Australia. Watching with a can of beer the sundowner over the Uluru. Listening to Corbins guitar sound. Talking about life… There are no words to thank you for this 10 days…. It was definitly one of my highlights from the whole trip…

Karolien a special thank you to you – I spent with you have been my company for much longer time. We met eachother again in Fraser Island and we drove around a week together from Brisbane ‘till Sydney. Spend the chrismas day together at Manly Beach and bottle of sparkling wine and we told each other our pain to be back in our daily life. Thank you for everything – hope to see you once again Honey…

To Emma, Bill and Luca – together with Karolien we explored Fraser Island together and had a great time together. I wish you two Bill and Emma all the best for your marriage and you Luca are just creating amazing nice pictures. A Reunion would be soo cool…

Olivier and Aver – the best company I could have to explore Sydney. Thank you so much… the last night with you two in this pretty crazy club in Melbourne was just the top of everything we did together… Aver when ever I hear Justin Bieber‘s „Sorry“ our dumpsmash sessions are coming in my mind – legendary!!

Mary – thank you for being part of this crazy night in Melbourne! You have been definitly one of the most important person for me in Silana and it was so nice to see you once again in Australia! I can’t wait to come and visit you in Budapest or in Dublin sweetheart!

And now it comes the part for which I’m to most grateful – my time in South Africa… This time there – specially at the camp – changed my life…

Sonja – you just have been just the best company for being in two at this Camp… We had such a great time together, watching the birds, cook together, finding our Ladies, having breakfast or a beer with them and I really hope we can catch up a lot more in future!

Francois and Nìall – my time with you two at the camp… There are no words for that… Two so different and nice guys with one goal… I will always be impressed what you two have and are sacrificing for WHC and teach the people what sustainability really means. Your work is so important and it’s a honor for me if I may support you in future – thank you for everything !

Sav – it’s so nice to still follow you on Facebook and where ever. Thank you for your work at the camp too!

Thabo – specially when I came back from the camp your were so supportive for me – really hope that we can continue one day our conversations

Glenda & Gavin – when I left the camp I was in a miserable condition. I missed it so much that at my arrive in Cape Town I just cried. And then in this sad moment there came light. Glenda what you have done at this one evening for me was just the biggest gift ever! You gave me a hug, a cup to tea, listen to me and invited me for your dinner party. Suddenly I was surrounded by incredibly interessting people and this company was exactly what I needed in this moment. Just some days later I drove with your lovely husband to Stellenbosch where he showed me the gallery and then we tasted wine. It’s just unbelievable that completely strangers can be in just a couple of days family. I really hope to see you once again – it would be my pleasure !

And last but not least – to all my beloved people far away in Switerland, Italy and where ever. Thank of modern technology you were always so near to me… and if there was a period where I didn’t have internet – you all have always been in my heart….

Thanks to my beloved sister for this collage!

Now everything is said


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
Noch keine Tags.
bottom of page